Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Public Policy
 


        James Acker

James Acker
School of Criminal Justice
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department: Criminal Justice


Expert in the following: The death penalty; history of capital punishment in the United States and New York
Campus phone: (518) 442-5317
Campus email: jacker@albany.edu



        Victor Asal

Victor Asal
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Terrorism; Homeland Security; Contentious Politics; Political Discrimination
Campus phone: (518) 591-8729
Campus email: vasal@albany.edu



        Carl Bon Tempo

Carl Bon Tempo
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: 20th century politics and public policy in the U.S.; history of refugees and immigrants in the U.S.; history of the U.S. and human rights; history of American foreign policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5368
Campus email: cbontempo@albany.edu



        Gene Bunnell

Gene Bunnell
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor Emeritus
Department: Geography and Planning


Expert in the following: Urban, city, district, and regional planning; anthropology; economics; public health
Campus phone: (518) 463-4704
Campus email: gbunnell@albany.edu



        Shawn Bushway

Shawn Bushway
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Criminal justice policy; the desistance process; sentencing policy in New York; court systems
Campus phone: (518) 591-8738
Campus email: sbushway@albany.edu



        Meghan Cook

Meghan Cook
University at Albany
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Intergovernmental relations and county and municipal government information management; Information sharing and integration; facilitation and cross-boundary collaborative work
Campus phone: 442-4443
Campus email: mecook@albany.edu



        José  Cruz

José Cruz
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; census data; Latino culture, political values, attitudes and behavior; media studies
Campus phone: (518) 442-5377
Campus email: jcruz@albany.edu



        Sharon Dawes

Sharon Dawes
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Fellow
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Government information systems strategy and management; policy analysis; information management and policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-3892
Campus email: sdawes@albany.edu



        Diane Dewar

Diane Dewar
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Health economics; health policy; health system; vulnerable populations; medical technology; aging; end-of-life care; palliative care
Campus phone: (518) 402-0370
Campus email: ddewar@albany.edu



        Jennifer Dodge

Jennifer Dodge
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Framing (and symbolic politics); citizen participation; nonprofit advocacy; environmental policy conflicts (fracking, environmental justice)
Campus phone: (518) 442-5274
Campus email: jdodge@albany.edu



        Thomas L. Gais

Thomas L. Gais
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Rockefeller Institute of Government


Expert in the following: Education; Federalism; government reform; higher education; social service spending; welfare reform
Campus phone: (518) 443-5238
Campus email: tgais@albany.edu



        Brian Greenhill

Brian Greenhill
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: International relations; human rights; international organization; environmental outcomes; climate change; political globalization
Campus phone: 518-442-5238
Campus email: bgreenhill@albany.edu



        Robert Griffin

Robert Griffin
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Dean
Department: Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity


Expert in the following: Emergency preparedness; homeland security; cybersecurity; internet of things/smart cities; smart violence and stadium security; American federalism; state and local governance
Campus phone: 518-442-5142
Campus email: rpgriffin@albany.edu



        David Guinn

David Guinn
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Senior Associate
Department: Center for International Development


Expert in the following: International development in democracy and governance; international public law; human rights; intellectual property; human trafficking; religion and violence; post-conflict, and multicultural and religious pluralism
Campus phone: 443-2716
Campus email: dguinn@albany.edu



        Michael Jerison

Michael Jerison
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Economics


Expert in the following: 500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.


Campus phone: (518) 442-4287
Campus email: mjerison@albany.edu



        Ioannis Kareklas

Ioannis Kareklas
School of Business
Assistant Professor
Department: Marketing


Expert in the following: Prosocial Behavior; Advertising Effectiveness; Sensory Perception; Public Health; Organic Consumption
Campus phone: (518) 956-8373
Campus email: ikareklas@albany.edu



        Richard Lachmann

Richard Lachmann
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Sociology


Expert in the following: Sociology of culture; popular culture; political sociology; war and terrorism; fiscal crises; U.S. decline; military spending
Campus phone: (518) 956-8150
Campus email: rlachmann@albany.edu



        Jason Lane

Jason Lane
School of Education
Department: Educational Administration and Policy Studies


Expert in the following: Higher Education: Accountability, Public Policy, Globalization and Internationalization
Campus phone: 443-5825
Campus email: jlane@albany.edu



        Daniel C. Levy

Daniel C. Levy
School of Education
Distinguished Professor


Expert in the following: International higher education; higher education policy and politics; private higher education; Latin American & Mexican politics
Campus phone: (518) 442-5177
Campus email: dlevy@albany.edu



        Michael Malbin

Michael Malbin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: U.S. politics and elections, campaign finance, and the U.S. Congress
Campus phone: (202) 969-8890
Campus email: mmalbin@albany.edu



        Erika Martin

Erika Martin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Associate Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Public health policy, HIV/AIDS, resource allocation
Campus phone: (518) 442-5243
Campus email: emartin@albany.edu



        Rick C. Mathews

Rick C. Mathews
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Public Service Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Homeland security; infrastructure protection; intelligence; counter-terrorism and terrorism interdiction; information sharing; weapons of mass destruction; critical decision making; facility and systems security; emergency preparedness
Campus phone: (518) 956-8180
Campus email: rmathews@albany.edu



        David Matkin

David Matkin
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Public budgeting; state budgets; public pension systems
Campus phone: (518) 442-5279
Campus email: dmatkin@albany.edu



        Louise-Anne McNutt

Louise-Anne McNutt
University at Albany
Associate Professor
Department: Institute for Health and the Environment


Expert in the following: Infectious disease epidemiology; epidemics; HIV/AIDS in developing countries; transmission of bloodborne pathogens (HIV, hepatitis); sexually transmitted diseases; intimate partner violence
Campus phone: (518) 525-2660
Campus email: lmcnutt@albany.edu


Jean Moore

Jean Moore
School of Public Health
Director
Department: Center for Health Workforce Studies


Expert in the following: Health workforce planning and monitoring; health workforce diversity; workforce shortages and maldistributions; oral health workforce research; scope of practice; workforce strategies to expand access to care
Campus phone: 518-402-0250
Campus email: jmoore@albany.edu



        Theresa Pardo

Theresa Pardo
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Director
Department: Center for Technology in Government


Expert in the following: Information technology innovation in the public sector; electronic records management; interagency and intergovernmental information sharing and integration; information technology business case planning and development
Campus phone: 442-3984
Campus email: tpardo@albany.edu



        Feng (Johnson) Qian

Feng (Johnson) Qian
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Comparative effectiveness research; quality of care and patient safety; evaluation of medical technology and digital health; health disparities and practice variation; global health
Campus phone: (518) 402-0325
Campus email: fqian@albany.edu



        R. Karl Rethemeyer

R. Karl Rethemeyer
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Terrorism; public policy; social networks and their impact on social, political, and policy processes; terrorist networks and organizations; counter-insurgency efforts in Afghanistan and Iraq
Campus phone: 442-5283
Campus email: kretheme@albany.edu



        David Rousseau

David Rousseau
College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
Associate Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: International relations; foreign policy; shared identity and military conflict; political development
Campus phone: (518) 442-5245
Campus email: drousseau@albany.edu



        Elizabeth Searing

Elizabeth Searing
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Nonprofits; social enterprise; financial management
Campus phone: (518) 442-2621
Campus email: esearing@albany.edu



        Stephan Stohler

Stephan Stohler
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Assistant Professor
Department: Political Science


Expert in the following: Comparative politics; constitutional law; election law; equality rights; free speech; public law; affirmative action
Campus phone: (518) 442-5263
Campus email: sstohler@albany.edu



        Frank Thompson

Frank Thompson
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Professor Emeritus
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Health care policy and implementation; Medicaid; federalism and health care policy
Campus phone: (518) 443-5522
Campus email: fthompson@albany.edu



        Sandra Vergari

Sandra Vergari
School of Education
Associate Professor


Expert in the following: Charter schools; K-12 education reform policy; politics of education policy
Campus phone: (518) 442-5063
Campus email: svergari@albany.edu



        Wei-Chyung Wang

Wei-Chyung Wang
University at Albany
Professor
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Climate modeling and data analysis; global warming; impact of climatic changes on social and economic activities and their policy implications
Campus phone: (518) 437-8708
Campus email: wcwang@albany.edu



        Stephen Weinberg

Stephen Weinberg
Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department: Public Administration and Policy


Expert in the following: Public policy; healthcare
Campus phone: (518) 442-5270
Campus email: sweinberg@albany.edu



        Wendy Weller

Wendy Weller
School of Public Health
Associate Professor
Department: Health Policy, Management and Behavior


Expert in the following: Financing and access to care; health reform; medical outcomes; provider payment
Campus phone: (518) 402-0302
Campus email: wweller@albany.edu