Faculty Experts

Call the Office of Media Relations at (518) 956-8150

Africa
 


        Allen Ballard

Allen Ballard
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: African-American history; the Civil War; Soviet history
Campus phone: (518) 442-5407
Campus email: aballard@albany.edu



        Roxanne Jones Booth

Roxanne Jones Booth
College of Arts and Sciences
Adjunct
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American church history; African American religion; African American Christian missions history; Christian missions; cross-cultural studies; Christian education
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: rbooth@albany.edu



        Ryan Irwin

Ryan Irwin
College of Arts and Sciences
Assistant Professor
Department: History


Expert in the following: American foreign relations; globalization; international organizations; decolonization
Campus phone: 442-5379
Campus email: rirwin@albany.edu



        Leonard A. Slade Jr.

Leonard A. Slade Jr.
College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: Black literature; black history; black poetry; and 19th century American literature, particularly author Herman Melville; American literary bibliography
Campus phone: (518) 442-4726
Campus email: lslade@albany.edu



        Marcia E.  Sutherland

Marcia E. Sutherland
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: 500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.


Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: msutherland@albany.edu



        Chris Thorncroft

Chris Thorncroft
College of Arts and Sciences
Department: Atmospheric Sciences Research Center


Expert in the following: Tropical weather and climate; monsoons, hurricanes
Campus phone: 442-4555
Campus email: cthorncroft@albany.edu



        Oscar Williams

Oscar Williams
College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor
Department: Africana Studies


Expert in the following: African American history and literature; American slavery; black nationalism; black conservatism; slavery in New York
Campus phone: (518) 442-4730
Campus email: owilliams@albany.edu